in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

2-8-02 // 2.23 pm

I told her I was looking for somebody to appreciate

NP: Semisonic - "All About Chemistry"

Today is one of those days out that just make you feel glad to be alive. Temps in the low 60s, slight south breeze, and tons of sunshine. If it wasn't for the leafless trees, I'd swear it was April.

So this morning I stopped by my grandparents' house (mom's side) and showed them my trip pictures, told some stories, etc. They've been to the UK three times before, so it was great to have someone to compare notes and experiences with. Had lunch there and then moved on.

Went to Bellevue Park and took a nice long walk on the track that runs along the park's perimeter. Not too many people out, what with it being a weekday afternoon and all, so it was quiet and peaceful. Very relaxing.

Had some extra time on my hands so I went to the mall just to wander around for a while. Went down the escalators in the main atrium and was approached by a man who looked like Chuck Mangione wearing a felt hat and walking with a cane. He was carrying a clipboard. So anyway, he asked me if I'd like to take a survey and make $2 in the process. I thought for a moment and shrugged "sure". What else was I going to do this afternoon? So I answered a few questions about would I or would I not shop at certain department stores, and I was asked a few questions about some sweatshirts or another that they had in the interview room. So about 10 minutes later, after having to talk to a rather attractive girl with a clipboard, I was out of there, two bucks richer.

Now I think I'm gonna go sit out on the deck and read the new issue of the Riverfront Times. Later gators.

then / now