in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-9-03 // 11.32 am

quaking leaves and broken light

NP: The Shins - "Chutes Too Narrow"

It's difficult to truly measure this one up with "Oh, Inverted World", simply because that one was so perfect a debut. It felt like it fell to the ground fully formed. Second albums are generally notorious for being difficult and sub par, but for some reason, the Shins haven't fell prey to that. In fact, in some ways, this new one is even better than the first one. But I need far more time to listen to be certain. Oh, and I think Erin and I are driving to Columbia to see the Shins' show there in a few weeks. Cool.

Cold pizza and dark coffee. Milky, gray skies. It's been cloudy for days and days at this point, save for a two or so hour break late Friday afternoon. It's fine and all, I like this time of year (the late fall before winter truly sets up camp), but I was looking forward to a day full of unbelievably clear, deep blue skies.

No beer for two or three (or maybe even four) weeks begins today. Also, eating less junk and continuing my return to long, challenging walks. I need to purify my body, to lose a few pounds, to just improve my overall physical well-being a bit. I will, of course, break this process once next Saturday for Ryan H's anti-bachelor party, but that's been in the works for a while now and I'm quite looking forward to it, so yes.

Ended up at a consignment shop with Erin yesterday afternoon, she was looking for a winter coat. I found a rather old Instamatic X-45 camera in among the assorted junk. Can't go wrong for a dollar. I have no idea if it will work properly, and since Kodak discontinued in 1999 the 126 cartridge film it takes, I'll have to send away to a speciality company just to get film. The battery is also ancient and looks in bad shape, though I think I can still take pictures without it. The flash just won't work. Which is fine, really, as I'm not even sure you can buy flash cubes anymore.

At some point in an hour or so, when I get properly motivated, I will be driving across the river for a bit of visiting with my parents. I was also going to see Ryan S for a bit, but he never got back to me earlier in the week. Though last I heard from him he was rather sick, so I'm sure that's still going on.

When I started this entry I thought that I had actual thoughts. But it turned into a "this is what I did" entry. But that's fine, it's my diary after all.

then / now