in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

1-5-09 // 6:58 pm

na rua, na chuva, na fazenda

NP: "City Of God" soundtrack

I love this album. The movie is astonishingly good, something I'm remembering after rewatching it for the first time in a couple of years. One of my faves, I need to get it on DVD, considering I own the soundtrack CD but not the movie itself.

A quick note to mention that the first day of the first full week back at work after the Christmas/New Year's holiday season wasn't nearly as horrific as I imagined it would be. Especially after how utterly rusty and creaky I felt last Monday after having ~4 days off for Christmas. Midmorning I got a new mystery to solve, and close to quitting time I figured it out, proposed a solution, and started to implement it! I live for that feeling, that cross between productivity, the "eureka" moment, and remembering that yes indeed, I am good at what I do.

I got a note from my Playback editor that the Dear Future review needs to be finished sooner rather than later, which initially filled me with dread since I wasn't quite feeling it. But, first after realizing that the other week I wrote a good 80% head start, and after dreaming up a killer couple of sentences for the conclusion in the car on the drive home, started my evening totally energized! I got home, changed, put on my shoes, bundled up, and got my walk on and took notes here and there on a little piece of crumpled up paper in my pocket. I've spent the rest of the evening so far hammering the review into shape. The words are flowing, it looks great, and I feel great! The overall best I've felt in days and days.

I think the post-New Year's period had given me some intermittent anxiety and odd feeling. I'd been off and on crabby, lonely, and just...weird feeling for two or three days, even up to last night. But today, and especially from noon onwards, it's all been banished. More of this, please!

Now I'm off to find a well earned beer, listen to some tunes, read a bit, eat some food, and enjoy the hell out of the rest of my night.

then / now