in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

1-7-04 // 9.40 pm

"oh my god, they were crab people!"

Jury duty and my assigned trial ended yesterday but since they kept us late both Mon. & Tues. they excused (and meagerly paid) us for Wednesday. The check is in the proverbial mail. So in lieu of working I spent today sleeping in a bit, walking, cleaning up around the house, listening to tunes & reading more of my Bryson book. Great stuff, and I now want to spend a month in Australia very badly.

Tonight, in celebration of Erin's birthday tomorrow, we are having a few drinks. We're also watching South Park, which I haven't watched with any regularity since my college dorm days, but every so often Erin & I tune in and it's great in small doses.

I don't want to go back to the office tomorrow or ever, but I have to. I mean, I suppose I could just resign, but I've kind of gotten used to having an income and all that, so...

Spongebob Squarepants is a frustrating program. On one hand, Bob himself is amazingly annoying. The character is obnoxious and unlikable. However, the show is prone to moments of such supreme surrealism of the sorts that it alone does best. So I'm torn, and it depends on the episode, really. But anyway.

As per the discussion in Erin's diary, I must mention that I've actually been to the Proclaimers' hometown in Scotland. It was on the way to St. Andrews from Edinburgh -- I wouldn't have known execpt that my pal Bill pointed it out as we passed through. It was my second Proclaimers related experience in my week in bonny Scotland, as before the Hibs match I attended my first night in town, they played "Sunshine on Leith" over the PA. Apparently the boys in the band are lifelong fans. Who knew?

I need to lose some weight. It would probably help if I stopped drinking beer, wouldn't it? Hrm.

It'd be nice if it could permanently be Christmas vacation. At least as of tomorrow it's only two days till the weekend.

then / now