in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

1-12-10 // 7:33 pm

wins the race

Post holidays. Relieved to have survived the onslaught of gatherings, visitors, over-scheduling, etc. Had a great New Years, though, kinda overindulgent with lots of restaurants, drinks, a few hangovers, friends from out of town, but hey, it's only once a year and I even got a sorely needed four day long weekend, even if it was mega social. Now I'm back in gym mode, in work mode, protein & fiber, head down, slow & steady, getting the job done. Not to get cocky, but I'm damn good at what I do. 3-4 weeks till phase one of my project is over, until then, it's hard work, pacing myself, and cycles of work work work and hardcore weekend R&R. Seeing friends, a few parties, tunes, sleeping in, the return of decent TV. The horrid deep winter was bad but it's passing for the time being, I feel like I've been dodging this January's pull downward, I feel like I'm way more prepared to handle it this year. Not sinking down into that hole of isolation. Still daydreaming of pitchers & catchers report, though.

One of the friends I've made in the last year is moving away to Boston to be with his girlfriend, they'd been doing the long distance thing for a year plus. So between that and that the job he moved here for turned out to be a soul-sucking pit, I'm happy for him. But I'll miss him, too, we share the same worldview and he's been a brilliant southside partner in crime. I mean, it takes ages to truly get to know someone, but we can talk, you know? We've been trying to soak up as much STL time as we have left. He hits the road on Saturday morning; Thursday we're going out for Thai food. And I guess that's it, at least until I visit New England in late summer or fall or whenever I get my trip together.

OK, time for dinner, the season premiere of Big Love, and more respite from a crazy day. Tomorrow's a big day, demoing my project for the user. There's already to-do list already a half dozen items long. Slow and steady, I can do this.

then / now