in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

1-15-09 // 7:57 pm

de-funked

My iTunes is doing one of those deals where I set it on random and have it play my 15,425 songs jukebox-style, and every single tune it spits out is precisely what I want or need to hear right about now. It knows. I feel this way especially because there are days that are the flipside of the coin, days it seems standoffish and plays nothing I want to hear, or only the dumbest dregs of my collection.

OK, so today has been a pretty excellent day for the most part. Sure, it's ass cold. The high was what, like 10F? That's insane. But I got home from work, I bundled up and got 2.5 miles in before I started freezing, and got some much needed sun in Tower Grove Park! It was fucking fantastic. Came home, tooled around, and then went out for a quick beer at the Black Thorn with my de facto little brother Alex. We talked about his school (it's his last semester of college), his work (he's a highly capable/intelligent junior analyst at a financial firm), his travel plans, etc. Just a great time, and the Black Thorn is as excellent as I remember it, if not better. They finally made some of the much-needed physical improvements to the place, such as patching the holes in the drop ceilings and cleaning up the pizza kitchen area. Sure, Dirty Harry pinball is no more, but there's a Family Guy one now and a jukebox that's actually on/working. Just a better experience overall, even if it is slightly more antiseptic. Just great to finally go back and exorcise that demon! Not only that, it makes me want to go back and keep reclaiming it. Also very good for the soul to spend a bit of time with family/a friend.

Plus, work. Work has been more of a source of anxiety this week than I initially realized. Not because it was tough or I had a problem I couldn't solve, but because after last week where I was busy as hell but in a way that I love, this week after a half-busy Monday, the rest of the week I've been massively underworked. That's fun for about 4 hours, max. But eventually it drives me up the walls, bores me and makes me feel like I'm not earning my keep or something. Idle hands and so forth. So today I just bit the bullet and told my supervisor that I need new projects, and to pass along anything at all he needs done. So now I've said my part, and I don't need to feel guilty/bad/whatever about basically not doing jack shit the last three days at work. If they want to pay me to sit there and write emails and whatnot, that's their prerogative.

Oh, and today is payday! And I got all my bills taken care of and socked away into savings a surprisingly large chunk on top of that. Hell yeah.

There's more, too, but that's an entry for when I have more time, perhaps this weekend. For now I'm simply relieved to be shaking off my four or five day funk. What a relief! So it's time for more of this creepily in-tune playlist, some dinner, and a little Dexter and Simpsons action before I sleep the sleep of the just. Goodnight (frozen) world.

then / now