in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

1-31-02 // 9.13 pm

the party was rained out

NP: Neil Finn - "One Nil"

Well I'm back from my trip. Stepped in the front door a couple of hours ago. I felt like Arthur at the beginning of "So Long and Thanks for All the Fish", you know the bit where he returns to the alternate Earth after years of interstellar hitchhiking. I quite needed a shower and a shave -- I think it'd been almost 48 hours since the last ones. But in any case, the last 24 hours have been especially insane. Seven hours overnight from Edinburgh to London Euston, tube from Euston Square to Paddington, Heathrow Express from there to the airport. Then there was the whole check-in process, then 8 hours on a transatlantic flight. Then tons of customs and immigration nonsense at Chicago (including us having to pick up our baggage at one carousel, take it through a doorway, only to put it on a 'continuing travels' conveyor belt). Then more security lines which almost caused me to miss the one hour flight back to St. Louis. That's not even mentioning the fact that it took like half an hour or so for my luggage to show up in the return carousel, as well as the 45 minutes on the metro to get home.

So yeah, right now I'm in a bit of a daze. My body's still on GMT, so it's crying out "it's three in the morning, go to bed you fool!" But here in CDT land, it's not that late, and I know if I go to bed right now I'll be up at like 5 o'clock in the morning tomorrow, and that's bad.

Alright, I'm off to attempt to clear enough crap off my bed so I can lay down on it. I'll probably need a vacation to recover from the one I just took.

then / now