in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

3-7-02 // 12.40 pm

between you and me

Not much time to write at the moment, but here's a bit before I finish yet more modifications to this cursed procedure.

Last night was the date with Erin. I wasn't too nervous, though the closer I got to her house, the faster my heart started to beat. In a bout of techno-spazzery, I let Yahoo maps print out directions to her place. Well, needless to say, 7 o'clock rolled around and I was lost. I was in the city, just south of downtown. Which I knew was the wrong area, but I was looking for the road the directions told me to take. I figured it was trying to take me into her neighborhood the back way or something. But I had no luck, so I called her and she got me back on track. So yeah...we went to this diner-y sort of place for dinner. Good food...excellent conversation. I think it's a very good sign when you realize several hours have passed and it's only felt like ten minutes. She looked fantastic in a union jack shirt and windbreaker. Just everything about her -- her voice, her smile, her laugh, the way she carries herself, it's just supremely attractive. You know, I could watch her play with her glasses and twirl her hair forever. So cute.

After the restaurant, we ended up just driving around, with an idea to head out to the airport and watch the planes taking off and landing. Eventually got our bearings and made it out to Lambert. We found a church parking lot (complete with playground) in someplace just across the interstate called Edmunson. We were chased off by cops, though... But it was all good, as we found a better lot further on down the road. Sat on the hood of my car, watched the planes & tried to spot any stars that happened to peek through the cloudy pink sky. I could've stayed out there with her all night.

Eventually drove her home. I didn't really want the evening to end, to be honest. But at least the night's end was a great one.

So yeah...I had a great time. In case you couldn't tell, I really, really like her. We're going to try to go out again this weekend. She attached her bracelet to my rear view mirror as insurance...somehow I don't think it'll be needed.

Alright, time to get back to work. What a day... Is it the weekend yet?

then / now