in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

3-7-10 // 7:22 pm

the ocean always wins, my love

No time or particular desire right now to go into mega detail, but this weekend has been extremely soulful. A little bit melancholy on the Sunday morning, but even that was in an enjoyable way, like a hangover you don't necessarily mind a ton 'cause it reminds you of how much fun you had the night before, how much steam you needed to blow off and did. I wasn't hungover, but anyway. Great weekend, lots of friends and getting out and about in the city again, amazing music, workouts, walks, and books. Spring is springing, and there were things like being able to drive around with my sun roof down, and walking around Cherokee Street on Saturday afternoon in a t-shirt, bare sleeved, no jacket that simply blew my mind. We're getting tantalizingly close to that blood-stirring first true day of spring. Best feeling in the world. Although these tasters are still mighty fine and help recalibrate my mental state in a major way. But I digress. While I refuse to get ahead of myself, there are so many fortifying things happening right now, and coming up this month and the next. Things to look forward to, plans to be made, plans coming to fruition, travel, old friends, new friends, possibilities...everything. Balance is returning. I'm always a tiny bit anxious, to some extent, no matter what, but right now more than any other state, I'm optimistic and happy with the life I've built for myself. It's hard to stick to your guns, and while I strive to not be inflexible, I know what I want and (I think) how to get it. That's my M.O. The springtime is gonna bring even more of that. Proper.

then / now