in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-1-03 // 11.31 am

the pubs are closed and all the ghosts are leaving

NP: iPod on random (I've managed to load 1300+ songs on the thing so far and there's still 2.2GB left to go). A moment ago it was Elton John singing Belfast, and now it's Neil Finn and Souvenir. Cool.

At the moment I am getting my work on, feeling confident and being rather productive. A good morning, methinks. The only annoying moment was when the tester assigned to my project kept coming by my desk and asking me questions. I mean, that's what I'm here for, but it's just that I was trying to get situated into a continuous block of coding, and he kept interrupting me. And he's one of those guys who just won't shut up. It was all talk about the project and such, but still. Anyway, he's left me alone now, so all is well.

I think today is "bring your children to work" day at my office, as my boss just came in the lab with his two kids. I was introduced as "Mr. XXXXX". I'm not sure, but that may be the first time I've ever been referred to that way, as a Mister and by my last name.

Idea of the day: a band called A.C.R.O.N.Y.M. It could stand for "A Cool Retro Outfit Needing Your Money", or something similarly interesting.

(10,000 Maniacs - Eden)

Went to my parents' house for dinner after work yesterday evening. It was a really nice time -- my mom made my favorite (beef stew), and we all sat around and talked for a while. Got a few random birthday presents (inc. extra cool fish-printed shower curtain and dried ingredients for soups), and enjoyed the breeze through the open windows. Left for home at dusk and took the long way back (down 159 to the square in Belleville, then down Main all the way to 157 and then I-64/I-44), and it was . I dunno, it's one of those things I need once in a while, you know? There's a very specific look and feel to things at dusk/early night at this time of year. Late spring and early summer evenings, breezes, and familiar landmarks. Of course, getting back to the city was great, too. The look of the downtown skyline as you pull around the bend in the freeway is comforting. There was a Cardinals game in progress at Busch, so that section of the center was an explosion of reflecting floodlights. As I drove by, I tried to look through the little gaps in the stadium's levels to see if I could catch the game's score off the big scoreboard in left field. No dice, though -- I could see random lights from the board but nothing concrete.

(Porcupine Tree - A Smart Kid)

Wow, looking at the clock, it's almost lunchtime. Time to come to a stopping point in my work and go find something to chomp on. Later gators.

then / now