in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

7-23-09 // 5:28 pm

random memories

For some reason, about two months ago, I went through this week long period of having intense, random memories bubble to the surface of my brain. I started writing some of them down until things went vaguely back to normal. I have a sharp memory, in general, so it's not like I never remember things, I seem to have more recall of the details of my life than most people do. But who knows why, that week or so was a flood of things I hadn't thought about for years, none of them with any real common link. For posterity, here's what I captured.

Spending the entire summer of 1990 playing Super Mario Bros. 3 in the basement of the split-level house we'd just moved to.

The very first time I drank beer and got drunk. The painted green glass bottles of Rolling Rock, the sour, mashy taste and hoppy, pungent aroma, the faint carbonation and the condensation on the bottles, sneaking from the drinking/movie dorm room back to my room after the then-unbelievable number (four) beers I'd had that night. Deciding that I loved beer.

Age...7? Playing with a metal baking soda canister and an array of big, colorful alphabet magnets, making words and rolling the tin around the kitchen floor.

Waking up one of the first mornings after I'd officially moved to California. Still staying at my then girlfriend's aunt & uncle's house. The awe, wonder, and amazement at the damp coolness in the air in the middle of summer. Crawling out from under a pillowy duvet, running the shower and feeling the chilly air coming in from the cracked bathroom window. Peering out at the fog and feeling like every day from then on was going to feel like a late fall day in Missouri.

The sensation of my hand on her warm, bra-covered breast, her arching her back, her lips parting and letting out a small, muted moan. Receiving me. The relative cool of her back contrasting with the heat of her body as I unhook the straps.

A summer night during college, home for a few months and at my folks' house, the power going out in the middle of a humid as hell midwestern summer. Going down into the basement where it was mildy cooler, laying on the floor, putting on headphones, and feeling the solitude and trying to fall asleep.

My seemingly sadistic orthodontist. At an indoor soccer game at the old Arena on Oakland Ave. with my dad and my scout troop after one of my first tightenings. Trying in vain to eat salt and vinegar potato chips -- sort of mashing them and laboriously chewing each single chip and feeling every super sore twinge. Eventually giving up. To this day even thinking about salt & vinegar chips makes my teeth ache, or at least my brain think about that helpless pain.

then / now