in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-8-04 // 8.24 pm

I want to be someone someone would want to be

This weekend has come and gone in a flash. Saturday morning I went to my parents' house to sift through/gather up my few possessions that remained at their place. I ended up with a couple of boxes of books and such from my adolescence, as well as a few odds and ends like a vacuum cleaner (no more manual model for me!). We had lunch and afterwards they drove me the couple of miles down the road to the lot where the new house will stand. They've already sold their current house and hope to break ground on the new one early next month. While it vaguely sort of pains me to see my parents contributing to turning yet another acre of cornfields into an sprawly subdivision, mostly I'm incredibly happy for them. They've both worked so hard over the years, sacrificed so much for me and my sister, they deserve the house they want to build and grow old together in, they deserve that a million times over.

Late Saturday afternoon I met up with Ryan and his girlfriend on the Loop, had a slice of pizza and wandered aroud, soaking up the unseasonably cool weather and the late day sun. It was good to see them (Ryan especially, it's been like three weeks or something like that) but she was being a bit difficult, it'd have been better to be just Ryan. But in any case, it was the perfect sort of day to just be out and about, it made me feel alive. Not that I don't feel alive the rest of the time, but you know what I mean. Erin and I spent a quiet evening at home once she got off work, it was nice.

Today didn't do much, the cat woke me up super early so I just got up. Took a walk, did lots of laundry, cleaned the kitchen. Went out to lunch with Erin before she headed to work for the afternoon. Read the Sunday paper, listened to music, walked up to the grocery store and bought a bunch of fresh veggies and such, and here I am.

Oh, also earlier this evening I folded laundry while listening to Denis Leary's "No Cure For Cancer" album. Don't those two things sort of cancel each other out somehow?

Now I'm left with the dwindling remainder of a Sunday night. If there was a way to stretch them out so that Monday morning never came, I would be in heaven. But that's certainly not news to anyone, is it?

then / now