in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

10-17-08 // 9:03 pm

"Do you have soul?" / "That all depends."

NP: Love Train: The Sound of Philadelphia

Four discs of classic Philly soul. Time for me to get smart & absorb. It's like being in college, but your coursework is to listen to really awesome music all week long and your homework is to write essays about it. This should've been my major at SEMO.

Randall's in that nowheresville right off Jefferson and 44 is my new mecca. How the fuck had I never gone there before? It's a warehouse. Of booze. Their beer selection is unrivalled in St. Louis. Huge shelves devoted to specific countries and regions. Tons of pint bottles of proper English bitter, Welsh ales, and hard-to-get-in-the-Midwest Northern California and Oregon ales. Oh my god... No Brains, no Double Dragon, and no Caledonian brews, but that's being so picky that I should be shot. So I'll stay more than content with what I have. I should just buy stock and get it over with now. Heavenly.

The weather is turning. Fall has arrived and I couldn't be happier. I was out for my walk a few nights ago, the rain had finally stopped but it was still humid and warm. I made my way through Tower Grove Park, did my pull-ups, and wandered down Grand to the supermarket. I bought my odds & ends, and upon returning outside, the temperature had dropped at least 10-15 degrees, and the wind was whipping in from the northwest. And of course, I was wearing shorts and a t-shirt. I hauled ass back home, leftover rain spitting in my face. But I was not so secretly thrilled! I live for this, even if I simultaneously miss sun-kissed 72 degree days, foggy nights, and that marine chill. It's a dichotomy. Word.

There are occasional moments these days where I miss being in a relationship. It'd be nice to curl up next to a soft, warm woman on a cold night like these. It'd be great to laugh, talk excitedly about tunes and books and films, cook a meal, share a bottle of red wine, fool around. But then I think about it a little bit harder...I like my single life. I dig taking care of myself, being on my own schedule. I'm finding myself awfully pleased lately to be able to cultivate my own space, interests, and activities again. Not that I wasn't ever able to that in the past, but I don't think I quite realized how far removed I got from some of that stuff in the past three years. I love being able to have a laid back Friday night like back in the day, to revel in my freedom from the working week. I've been massively into my lazy Saturday mornings. Sleep in (OK, so 8:30 is sleeping in for me), drink coffee in my underwear, listen to tunes, fart around on the computer, then eventually get moving, hit Soulard Market, take a super long walk, soak in the things in life that most make it worth living! So yeah, I don't think I'm ready for more punishment yet. But occasionally it sounds kinda nice. Maybe it's time to start considering dating again? Maaaaybe. I'm torn. We shall see. I'm certainly in no rush. There's a first, eh?

then / now