in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-6-03 // 11.19 pm

one foot in front of the other

NP: Matt Good - "Avalanche"

Erin is way late tonight, though it's not her fault, she's had to stay over to clean up a new coworker's mess and then is being sent off for a late night delivery. Bah. I'm sitting here nursing a glass of Chimay Red and off-and-on tending to a curry on the stove. It's simmering on low in wait for Erin's return.

I had a fucking busy evening. Did four loads of laundry, folded them and put 'em away; did a kitchen full of dishes; cleaned the cat box; took out the trash, and talked on the phone with my mom.

The parental unit gave me some bad news about Cricket, my old dog. She's getting on in years, and she's been gradually coming down with elderly type afflictions like arthritis. Also, she keeps getting these benign tumors all over her side and paws, as well. Apparently one of the tumors is so bad that the vet is going to have to amputate a toe. There's also been talk of putting her to sleep, considering her consistently failing health. The vet's basically saying "I understand either choice you eventually make, I can't recommend one approach or the other", and are saying there's equally likely chances of her spiralling further down into disrepair or her making a bit of a recovery. My dad said we'd all talk about it over the weekend, but I'm pretty sure everyone is leaning towards "see how she does after this operation, and if she keeps getting worse then we might have to do what we don't want to do". So yeah. It's just depressing. I don't want my doggie to go anywhere, even though I know one day she will, regardless of if it's now or months or years down the road.

I'm very happy that tomorrow is Friday.

then / now