in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-6-08 // 8:32 pm

you know you have a permanent piece of my medium-sized american heart

NP: The National - "Alligator"

Right now I'm dying, longing for a local woman friend. Not a girlfriend, mind you, but a female friend. Ideally, she would be cute. I want to make plans with her to go shopping on a cold, dark Saturday -- I mean, I need someone to tell me which clothes at the Gap make me look ridiculous and which will make ladies think I'm "hot"! Right? Or something. And then we could get coffee, or grab a drink, or a bite to eat, and talk about fun stuff & serious stuff, all with sweetness and kindness. Tea & sympathy.

Yeah, I know I'm weird. I'm not looking for a relationship right now. But I'm looking for something specific. Hmmm...maybe if/when I figure out how to verbalize/explain it, I'll get closer to actually finding someone to fill this job opening.

I've been on two kicks lately: The National, and Elbow. Perfect music for fall turning into winter!

Alright, time to go make a cup of tea. Masala chai with milk and sugar. Yeah, the nights are beginning to get long and dark. It's time to hunker down and load up on supplies. For me, these days, that means: proper ale; shit tons of tea; fresh veggies & fruits (as much as you can get in the Midwest), a multitude of types of beans, very excellent wheat bread; music; getting up ass-early so I can get home from work early enough to get an hour-long walk in before darkness falls; TV shows. Right now I'm addicted to "The Office" (US, mostly, but I'm looking forward to re-watching the UK version soon), and am finding myself inexplicably drawn back towards "Sliders", in all its low-rent glory.

As if you couldn't tell, the end of daylight savings time & the onset of winter nights is wreaking havoc on me. Not in a horrible way, but I'm definitely acclimating. It's kind of charming...to myself? At least I finally figured out what was going on. At least now I can embrace it till I normalize next week or so. Happens every year, you'd think I'd be used to it. I guess it was so less pronounced in the Bay Area. Now that I'm back in STL and in the land of proper seasons, it's hitting me full-strength for the first time in ages.

OK, now it's really time for that cup of tea, for more National, and Christmas lights.

then / now