in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-7-04 // 7.26 pm

aeroplanes and buxom dames

NP: The Dears - "No Cities Left"

This is a good find, even if the singer sounds like he likes Damon Albarn a little toomuch. I take issue with the reviewer who said it sounds like a Britpop album from 1995 time traveled forward about a decade. Musically it's very darkly psychedelic, kind of paranoid and epic with saxophones and weird strings. I dunno, I like it.

This weekend has been mundane but highly enjoyable. Often I find the most mundane times are the ones I like the most. Perhaps that says something about how interesting of a person I am, but oh well.

In any case, I slept in a bit on Saturday (which was glorious) and later headed to the Loop for a walk and to check out the shops. My main find was at Subterreanean -- a book I coveted for ages but never bought 'cause I couldn't justify the expense. I bought it. It's called "Rock Around the Bloc", a history of rock music in Eastern Europe and the Soviet Union. It's utterly fascinating, and has been out of print for 10 - 15 years, which is probably why I never read it before. Erin and I went out for quickie Japanese food when she got home from work (think Fazoli's gone Oriental), then hung out at home and visited with John and Kristin for a while when they stopped by.

Also yesterday I watched a ton of the Premiere League on Fox Sports, there were like three or four matches on in a row, with several of them being live. Particularly thrilling was the back-and-forth Crystal Palace - Arsenal match, which was one of the live ones. I was kind of cheering on Palace 'cause they were the underdogs and all. Plus, any loss/draw by one of the teams at the top of the table is good, considering Newcastle is mired in 9th place and trying to claw back up.

Today has been a hodgepodge, I haven't done much of import at all, to be honest. I cashed in a bit of store credit at Vintage Vinyl to get a few CDs, took another long walk in a particularly clean & crisp November afternoon, went to the store for dinner ingredients and took Erin some medicine and a cup of tea for her sinuses. Poor Erin.

Now I'm just chilling out, listening to music, drinking a pint of Sam Smith's ale and tending to the pot of beef stew I put together a little while ago. Erin called a little while ago & apparently John is having big relationship troubles (and may or may not be very drunk) and Erin is picking him up on her way home from work & bringing him here and I will feed him stew so hopefully he sobers up and hopefully he and Kristin can patch things up 'cause they're really cool together.

But now I'm rambling and it's time to check on dinner.

I wish that Monday morning never had to come.

then / now