in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

12-4-04 // 6.48 pm

we have the early hours

NP: Marillion - "Marbles"

I had to go in to work for about four hours this afternoon. I was scheduled to start my testing on Thursday, but due to last minute code changes spurred on by a review which was in turn brought upon by the customer revealing that they'd been telling us the wrong thing for about six months. So through no fault of my own, I had to basically sit around twiddling my thumbs for most of Thursday & Friday, waiting for the go-ahead from the engineers and the systems guys, saying "we're done & we've built your test environments". That didn't end up happening, all I got Friday evening was "we're hoping to have some part of it ready for you at some point this weekend, we'll call you if/when that happens". So I told my manager & the project manager, et al that I'd come in this weekend if I got the word I could start. Today right before noon I got the call that one half of the environment was ready, which meant I could come in and do that part of my testing. So I did, and honestly it wasn't that bad. I was the only person in the entire building, which meant zero distractions as I motored along. I ended up finishing a huge chunk of what needed to get done, which was basically everything I could possibly do today on the environment that was ready. So tomorrow if the guy calls me to say that the other half is set up, I'll head in for an hour or two, do some setup and kick off the automated tests I wrote/compiled last week. That's the good thing about those, there's the up-front work, but once you write them, they basically run themselves. So yeah, not a big deal, it's just slightly annoying since I was ready to do this stuff during the actual work week. But it's OK.

Last night was cool, Will came by and we went to Schnucks to pick up some beers. Erin was home from work by the time we got back, and John & Kristin were there too. So we all spent the entire evening drinking, eating Chinese food, talking & goofing around, which was awesome. I stayed up way later than I normally do and I had a nice buzz going. Everyone was really funny all night.

A little while ago, coming back in from work, I found half of a jumbo hot dog in the apartment hallway. What the hell?

then / now