in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

12-10-08 // 7:26 pm

nothing clever to say right now

Merely a note to mention that I snapped out of my week-long funk /existential crisis on Saturday night after a killer time at the Playback Xmas bash at Cicero's.

Four bands, and I got in free since I'm a staff writer. My name was on the guest list -- I've never been on a guest list before! I poked around on the Loop for a while, buying my Girl Talk ticket, getting a coffee, and sampling tunes on the Vintage Vinyl listening stations. Met up with Steve at Cicero's, who graciously came out even though he was beat, and a few other Playback folks. Saw Cameron Matthews (endearingly bookish/nervous local singer-songwriter), Dear Future (expansive early U2/Live modern rock - they were electrifying, a record company rep was in the audience to check them out), Radioradio (kind of a second division regional Killers - not bad), and Lions Of Hazelwood (like a weird alt-rock Southern rock hybrid), won a swag bag in a door prize giveaway (five CDs, including three from the bands that played), was finally given a Playback t-shirt that actually fits me, rocked the fuck out, got bought multiple pints of good beer (London Pride - all hail Cicero's massive draught selection) by the Playback editors, and got hand picked to review Dear Future's EP for the magazine. My editor sent their lead singer Brandon over to me and we talked for a while, it was so cool. I told him it was a nice twist of fate, since they blew me away & I'd been writing a review in my head the whole time they were on stage. Yeah, I'm a dork, I can't deny it.

So I had a slight hangover the next day, but it was one of those mild ones that's almost sort of pleasant, because while you're tired you know you also blew off the requisite amount of steam the night before, and you emerge cleansed the next day. Nothing sitting around in pajamas and then later a long walk in the park and then a TJ's run doesn't cure. Basically, I whine and bitch too much from time to time. I also over think things. So what else is new?

The good news is that all I have to deal with right now is fighting off an attacking cold and trying to stay warm when it's constantly ass cold outside. Nothing that a woman and a bit of spring/summer sun won't cure. Both in their own time. In the meantime, I have a Dear Future EP review and a Top 10 Albums of 2008 article to write.

then / now