in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

2-24-02 // 12.10 am

wake up the house is on fire

NP: Green Day - "Warning"

Walking home through my village about a half hour before midnight on a Saturday night... I like to look up at the sky on perfectly clear nights like this. We're just far enough away from the city to see each and every star, to watch them and the moon brighten the pitch black dome above me and the ground that I trod upon. Though to the northwest, not terribly far away, I can see the bright pink lights of the city. If I move a few miles down the road and I can see the towers of the city skyline. I like that contrast. It's nights like this that I feel most alive. The vast expanse, the blackness with only the waning moon as illumination... That's pure beauty. Reminds me of the shocking coincidence of the fact that I even exist in the first place.

We decided to just stay local tonight. Spent a bit of time at the local Legion hall, had a beer each, threw some darts. Moved across the street to another bar... Drank some beers, had a bite to eat. The kicker was the night's musical entertainment -- some dude, a one man band. He was this short-ish guy with a debatably authentic English accent. He either came from Bournemouth or was just pretending... Britain by way of Davy Jones and hours upon hours of "Monkees" reruns. In any case, he wore a black headband and played a white Steinberger bass, straight out of the late 1980s. So we were treated to bass-heavy renditions to "Can't Buy Me Love" and "Brown Sugar". Not to mention "Stay" and "The Wanderer". I wasn't sure if this guy was in on some sort of "Wedding Singer" type gag, or if it was sincere. In any case, I know is that I was entertained for an evening.

Alright, time to sleep away this long night.

I love you, wherever you are.

then / now