in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

3-7-01 // 12.17 am

the way out is through

NP: Nine Inch Nails - "The Fragile"

Though on occasion I can be quite lazy, I really have to admit that I'm just like my father in that if there's stuff that has to be done, I do it and tend not to stop until it's finished. Of course, I'm not *exactly* like him...he'd probably never even sleep if it wasn't biologically necessary.

For the third consecutive week, I've been buried in coursework. This week's not quite as bad as the past couple were, but still. This afternoon I had to take the second Software Engineering exam. I studied for like 4 hours on Monday night and another 45 minutes or so this afternoon. I'm just glad it's done with now. This evening, I polished off the powerpoint for our Australian Culture presentation. It looks good...and I can't wait for Thursday so we can present it and then have it over with. If I do say so myself (and I do), I certainly deserve the spring break that's coming up in about a week and a half.

Caught Adam on IM this evening. He got some truly fantastic news that, in early July, once his training is over, his first duty assignment will be right back home at Scott AFB! I was so glad when he told me -- he was overjoyed, and I know Robyn's gonna be so unbelievably happy. It's so great to know he's still gonna be around.

Got the new Manics singles in the post today, and they're pretty good. I've heard the songs several times before getting the CDs, and "So Why So Sad" had to grow on me. But now I quite enjoy it...a nice personal moment from an album that seems like it's gonna be really political. "Found that Soul" is just glorious -- just about as punk as the band's ever been. And as for all the b-sides, well they're raw and heavy as shit. Oh man, bring on the album. Only two weeks to go...

One of these days, I'm gonna get to bed at a halfway decent hour. Probably isn't going to be tonight, though.

then / now