in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

3-31-01 // 1.36 pm

she gets rock n roll, a rock n roll station

NP: Dire Straits - "Making Movies"

I have just two words to describe my Friday night: roller disco. It was Danielle's birthday, so we decided to go roller skating. Well, apparently at the local rink, Friday night is a showcase for screeching middle school kids who like to run into you a lot. Oh, and the "DJ" they had played some utterly terrible music. I guess this is what the kids dig these days, but damn. I think I heard one decent song the whole evening, and that was by freakin' Eminem! But oh well, it's not like roller discos didn't play top 40 crap when I was in middle school. We actually tried to get the fake DJ to play some actual disco songs, but when we approached him, he said he didn't think they had any. Still, he was better than the 16 year old girl we talked to earlier -- she didn't seem to even know what disco is. So instead, we were treated to what seemed like the ultra-extended mix of "Genie in a Bottle" and not one but two Mariah Carey tracks. I kept wishing they would play the third track on the album I'm spinning right now. But skating was fun -- for not having put on skates for at least 7 years, I was amazed to find that I could still skate just as well as I did back then. I guess it's like riding a bike, you never forget how. There was this worker guy at the rink, he must've been like 40 or 50 years old, and he looked exactly like Steven King. And he was an asshole, kept telling everyone to "move along", and he also only allowed "male/female and female/female pairs" during the couples skate. So me and Hinge went out there and skated a lap hand-in-hand just to show him up. Worst part of the evening: Danielle's shoes were stolen! The rink was out of quarters so she couldn't lock them away in the pay mini-lockers. So she had to leave them out in the open shoe rack thing, and they were taken. So Marc got into it with Steven King...I hope they at least get reimbursed. I'm just glad I got through the whole evening without being completely trampled.

then / now