in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

4-18-02 // 3.39 pm

we'll hold on to each other so we don't fall down

It's like a million degrees outside at the moment. Apparently spring has been cancelled this year, and we went straight from winter to the middle of summer. I mean, the warmth is nice, but yeah... I'd rather ease into 90+ degree afternoons.

Stayed in last night making mix CDs, catching up on some reading, doing some general lazing around. I missed Erin like crazy, though. Around dusk, we talked on the phone for about an hour and fifteen minutes. I was out in my front yard, barefoot in the grass, talking to her, feeling the light breeze, and looking up at the stars. It was kind of strange, listening to her voice, laughing with her, all of the things we always do, but not having her there next to me. It was even stranger looking northwest to where I can see the pink glow of the city lights, and knowing that she was there. I realize we see each other just about every day, but at that moment, I wanted her there with me.

I love her mannerisms, her sexy voice, the half dazed/half staring way she looks at me when she's just woken up. I love the way her hair smells, I love how incredible it feels when she puts her arms around me. I love how it seems like she fits just right up against me when we lay down together, like we're bordering pieces of a jigsaw puzzle. The cut is perfect. She's perfect. I love her.

I think last night in was good for me, though, I got a lot of rest. Today is the first day in a few where I didn't feel like a zombie at the office. I mean, that'd be good if this was an undead office complex, but it's not. So, yeah.

Today I had the chance to move out of my double cube and into one of the newly vacated singles that's elsewhere in the lab. It was between me and my cubemate...I lost the coin toss. I was not amused. I'm still not, really...

Tonight apparently Erin and I are meeting up with Ed and Tara to go to a dodgy Mexican bar. This is going to be good. It's always good with Erin.

Exciting mini-break planned for two weekends from now. Going down to Cape for Marc's graduation party, so we're just making a weekend of it. Rock.

Now I must think of a way to pass the last hour of the working day. Maybe I can secretly dig a tunnel to freedom, a la "The Shawshank Redemption".

then / now