in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

12-2-03 // 11.50 am

a northern soul

NP: iPod jukebox fun. (Francis Dunnery - Give Up Your Day Job)

Some days I drink coffee like a chain smoker lights up. Not sure why, perhaps I secretly enjoy the way the feelings of the caffeine buzz and the slightly unsettled stomach interact. Maybe I'd rather be wired and tired than just plain tired. Or it could just be that it's cold both outside and here in the lab and I need an inner fire, so to speak. It's the next best thing to being back home still snuggled up in bed next to Erin.

(10,000 Maniacs - Eden)

I've felt strangely worn out, ill, and creaky so far this week. Not sure if it's the aftereffects of the holiday, my body trying to fight off getting sick, or something else altogether different. Either way, it's incredibly annoying, especially since it just makes me feel like constantly spending the day in bed. Oh, and working 10+ hour days all this week (necessary in order to take Friday off for Ryan H's wedding) isn't helping, either. But enough complaining.

(Bruce Hornsby - The Wild Frontier)

Erin's friends John and Ed have been over the past couple of nights, talk about old school. I was actually looking forward to spending the evening with just Erin, but she's been having so much fun seeing everyone again (it's been a while) that I don't mind at all. It's nice to just sit there goofing around while they do their thing. I'm not trying to be antisocial, far from it. It's just that sometimes I like to soak up the social atmosphere. I used to do this from time to time back in the day when I'd throw parties in college. The apartment would swell with people and I'd just sort of sit down with a beer, talk with various people as they wandered by, and revel in the festive, friendly feeling. So yeah.

(Massive Attack - Safe From Harm)

The new project that I've been doing prep work on for the past few weeks was officially turned on today. Though no sooner did we get approved to actually begin coding did I have to turn around and request our configuration management people to open a branch on the development server for the project. So it's yet another game of hurry up and wait. Hooray.

(Pet Shop Boys - London)

Thinking about friends, Ryan S is coming by on Thursday for some Magic/food/beer/whatever. Always welcome. It's interesting, Ryan S is the only friend from my adolescence that I didn't outgrow. It's interesting, I've known him since I was like 11 years old, though we didn't become really close friends till about 6 or so years ago. In any case, Ryan S is a great friendship because there's an almost perfect balance of common interests and differences. The commonalities are the important things, such as we're both really laid back, easy going type people. He's not arrogant, he's helpful, willing to listen, and open to compromise. Sometimes we actually talk about relationships and emotions, which is supposed to be weird and rare for a male/male friendship, but the more I think about it, it's something that exists in all of my most vauled male friendships. Anyway. We're both big into sports, we both like to try wide ranges of foods, and have many common pop culture touchstones. Granted, he's not that into music and favors b-horror movies and action flicks to my love of dialogue based art flicks, but we both love the Coen Bros. and Lord of the Rings, Star Trek, etc. Not that pop culture really even matters, it's a secondary or even tertiary thing, but I like that he exposes me to stuff I might not have been aware of, and I try to do the same to him.

(The Verve - On Your Own)

I'm getting really sick of seeing designer throwback jerseys. I mean, it's one thing to go to a thrift store and find an old one or whatever...back before this current trend I amassed a decent collection of old Canadian hockey sweaters (Winnipeg Jets, anyone?) found in secondhand bins. But these 100 dollar three-sizes-too-big shirts in super-ugly '70s styles and colors? It's getting up there with those fucking trucker hats as far as I'm concerned. I mean come on, the Astros' old "rainbow popsicle" look was horrific 20 years ago, and it's even more so today. The other day at that parade I actually saw a kid wearing one of the greatest ever athletic sartorial gaffes ever committed -- an old powder-blue Cardinals away jersey! Give it a rest people. But whatever, I'm not attuned to hip-hop culture and never will be. Let them eat their throwback cake.

(Paul Simon - Allergies)

Spam subject line du jour: "Touring the world for tight beaver"

(The The - Lonely Planet)

It's nearly lunchtime but I'm not even remotely hungry. I have another 6+ hours left here today and unless that branch gets created I have no idea how I'm going to fill them. It's going to be pitch dark by the time I get out of here tonight, that's what depresses me. But it's alright, that's why I get out for a walk at lunchtime. I need to stop complaining, it's unbecoming, especially when I have so much I should be happy about and thankful for.

then / now