in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

12-17-03 // 10.19 am

all in all it was a pretty nice day

NP: iPod, more once more. (Jackson Browne - The Load Out)

This morning I came in to work to discover the 'message' light on my phone flashing. Nothing new, of course, I get lots of calls. Granted, at least half of them are people who think they've called Computer Renaissance (I'm xxx-3390, they're xxx-3990), but still. Today's surprise message-leaving guest was the Missouri Department of Revenue. Uh oh. You know that sinking feeling. "Have I upset the taxman?", I thought? They gave me a number in Jefferson City to call, which I did, expecting a relentless assault of the "Where's the money, Lebowski?" variety. The actual outcome was kind of anticlimactic, not that I'm complaining. Apparently they haven't received my returns and they want a copy. The reason they never got one in the first place is that I live in Missouri but work exclusively in Illinois, so I don't pay any state tax to the MO. But it seems that even if I don't owe 'em any money they still want the paperwork for their 'files'. Can do.

(Pulp - Birds In Your Garden)

Ryan S came by last night after work, at which point we engaged in geek-centric activities. Well, mostly we played Magic, talked about football and politics, and drank beer. Ordered a pizza, too. Even watched some Discovery Channel thing about dinosaurs. Oh yeah, and we listened to a Weird Al album.

(Neil Finn - Addicted)

If you live in the UK and know of any chart return shops, help Chris and I out and buy the single for the Gary Jules version of Mad World. This is to avoid the horror of the Darkness' Xmas song becoming the Christmas #1. It simply will not stand. So yes, rise Britons, and do what I cannot do!

(Belle & Sebastian - The Loneliness Of A Middle Distance Runner)

Can't wait till the Christmas season is over so Erin's job stops working her so hard. I feel so bad for her when she comes home so late and exhausted. Though hopefully she'll get some time to relax and we'll get to spend some time together when she's off Fri. & Sat. She was also supposed to be off Sunday, but that's apparently been nixed. Grrr.

(Counting Crows - American Girls)

As good of a song as this actually is, I think this is officially the point where for me, Adam Duritz officially became a parody of himself. It was that horrible cover of Big Yellow Taxi (a song I already loathed, now doubly so) that was perhaps the box of nails in the coffin. Sad times.

(Tori Amos - A Sorta Fairytale)

Some of my coworkers are currently discussing going out at lunch to stand in line for tickets to the "Return of the King" premiere. I'm not that hardcore.

OK, I've slacked off long enough this morning, time to get my technical documentation on. Or something. Yeah.

then / now