in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

2-5-01 // 1.24 am

selling the drama

NP: Live - "Throwing Copper"

The air in my bedroom had become stale, so I opened up the window a little while ago. Even though the incoming cold air chills my feet, it's entirely preferrable to breathing the same stale, recycled stuff any longer than I already had been.

This afternoon I spent an hour or so on the phone with Robyn, it was good to hear her voice & to catch up on things. She ended up finding affordable plane tickets, so she's going down to San Antonio next weekend for Adam's boot camp graduation. But yeah, talking to her is always so therapeutic, we always seem to be on the same page.

I have a Software Engineering exam on Tuesday, which I'm a bit anxious about. I've never had this professor for any course before this one, so I don't know what to expect on the tests. It's study time on Monday night, hopefully I do alright the next day.

BJ & Nora are throwing a party this Saturday night, which promises to be a great time. I enjoy having weekend plans to look forward to, they make the school week go by just that much more quickly.

I'm saddened by my own musical ineptitude. I wish I was a competent guitarist or keyboard player. It's as if my lack of proficiency is a hulking mountain range that gets in the way of all of the melody & lyricism that's always running around inside of me. There's a need to sing, to create & to turn abstract feelings into something more concrete. I try to do that with poetry & lyrics, but it doesn't usually work out to my satisfaction. I think that's because poetry & whatnot is an attempt to take feelings and confine them with language. And I'm not nearly talented enough to rise above those limitations. But music...to me the best music is a seamless transfer of emotion through sound. True, lyrics often amplify the effect, but still. I'd just like to be able to, after a lifetime of being a consumer & appreciator of music, put some part of myself back into all that.

Now it's time to shut the window & get some sleep.

then / now