in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

2-7-03 // 9.57 am

long grass whistles and the tall trees break

NP: Midnight Oil - "Diesel and Dust"

It's taking forever for my brain to shift into gear this morning. It's not that I'm overly tired, it's just one of those days, you know?

It's officially cold as hell outside. Wind whipping around, powdery snow drifting across roads, air so cold it hurts your lungs. Man, this blows.

I finally remembered something I've meant to write in here all week. Driving to and from work every day, I'm going into the sun. It's usually right at the time of the morning/evening where the sun is just coming up or going down over the horizon. So, as a result, the glare is terrible, regardless of sunglasses or car visors, to the point where it takes real concentration to make sure I stay in my lane, etc. In any case, I've come across a way to sort of beat the sun in my eyes. See, there are usually a good number of semis on the interstate with me. They usually cast a shadow, either directly behind them, or off to the side at about a 45 degree angle. In any case, you can get your car into that shadow, and then by maneuvering correctly, and keeping approximately the same speed as the rig, you can stay there. And presto -- instant relief for your burned-out eyes. Anyway, I call the whole process shadow drafting, which in itself sounds kind of cool. Or maybe it's just me.

One of the secretaries here in my office, she has a mustache. I mean, it used to just be this little, barely noticeable thing. But now it's getting really thick and heavy, it's incredibly gross. I mean, nobody says anything about it, but still. Not trying to be horrible here, but damn.

A little while ago, a conversation my coworkers and I were having about the relative degrees of out-there-ness of various "axis of evil" nation leaders morphed into a discussion of Dr. Who. That's right, Dr. Who. I have absolutely no idea how we got there from the previous topic, though. Oh, and one of my more conservative coworkers thought Russia was still Communist. Myself and another guy had to explain that while the Communist Party still exists there as a minority force, the country has been democratic (albeit mobster dominated) for about a decade now.

Is this entry reading strangely? I have the feeling that it is. Stupid morning. Though at least it's Friday. Fridays completely rule. The work atmosphere is way more relaxed, and at the end of the day, you get to leave and not come back. That's the best part. And then of course, there's the driving home, the pizza and beer, the hanging out with Erin, the going to bed late and sleeping in & snuggling with Erin. All excellent stuff, can't wait.

And with that, I actually have a bit of work to take care of. Later gators.

then / now