in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

2-10-03 // 6.40 pm

a litany of saints and other ordinary men

NP: Pet Shop Boys - "Behavior"

This has been one of those days that just seem to leave you drained. It's funny, I was far busier last week, but felt way better. I dunno, it's just that there's really not much to do at work at the moment, so I've been having to scrounge around for something to do, which makes me feel kind of useless, like I don't belong there, you know? Plus, my manager's on my back again. Of course. I'm not sure what his deal is, I'm not sure if I'm not meeting some set of his internal expectations or what. But it seems like sometimes no matter what I do at work, he's not happy, or someone else isn't happy. That sort of thing leads to self-doubt. I mean, I'm not a genius, and sometimes it takes me a while to really, truly understand the guts of something. But it's not like I'm not putting for effort, and it's not like I'm not working my ass off for these people. Blah. Plus, my intermediate review is on Wednesday. It's not quite as bad as the full-on annual review, but it's still enough to make me a nervous wreck.

Anyway, yes.

At least this day had its upsides. Found out that Idlewild is finally going on the US leg of their current tour, and that they'll be in Columbia on March 19th! What's more, it's a super small venue, and tickets are only 10 bucks. Too bad no St. Louis date (this city really needs to get its concert act together sometimes -- we keep losing touring acts to smaller, surrounding college-type towns like this), but it's still way cool. Erin and I are both rather excited about it, as we've wanted to see 'em live, and I'm especially glad, considering they cancelled the show they were supposed to play in St. Louis a few years ago in support of "100 Broken Windows". Roddy Woomble! Say it, you'll be surprised how therapeutic it is.

Heh, the episode of "The Simpsons" where Homer gains tons of weight to go on disability is on. It's still completely hilarious, even without the sound on. Heh, Homer just ate the wad of Play-Doh. Brilliant.

Erin's at her guitar lesson, and I think I'm just about decompressed at this point. Which is good, as I'm ready to chill out for the rest of the evening. I'm ready for dinner, too, which reminds me, I should get that started.

then / now