in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

2-10-01 // 12.19 pm

hoist a new flag

NP: David Gray - "A Century Ends"

Yesterday was one of those all-too-rare days where everything just seems to work out. An hour or so after I got off work, a huge cold front came through and wiped away the sticky, still, grossness that had been hanging around in the air for most of this week. It got cold...really cold. Then it was happy hour with friends, jalape�o poppers, and giant glasses of beer. M got her tongue pierced...again. If I ever let anyone put a big metal rod/neeedle thing through my tongue, there's no way I'm ever letting it heal over only to have someone do it to me several more times at later dates! But that's really a moot point, as I plan to never be pierced. Tattooed, probably, but pierced -- no way, Jose. But ayway...we also braved the throngs of area high school students (big night out, eh kiddos?) at the local googolplex in order to see "Hannibal", which I'd been looking forward to for ages. It was good...really good.

I also bought tickets for my sister and I to see David Gray when he comes to St. Louis in April. I'm psyched, as (a) it's at that new venue on Delmar in U City, the Pageant, and I haven't been there since it went through its restoration & started hosting shows, (b) I really like David Gray & would have never thought he'd bother to tour in my neck of the woods, and (c)I haven't been to a gig since Moby in October, and that's just a criminal gig drought. Live music is where the proverbial 'it' is at.

Today, the skies are pure blue, deep & cold. I have to do laundry, but I'll read to pass the time. Later, I want to take an incredibly long walk...it's just too beautiful out to not. Party tonight, very little coursework to do on Sunday...damn, things are good.

then / now