in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

2-21-04 // 5.19 pm

"ah liz phair, ah liz phair in love..."

NP: Ben Folds Five - "Whatever And Ever Amen"

Haven't written in a while because things have been rather quiet. Which is fine by me, it's just that it doesn't usually make for good diary writing. I mean, what am I going to log each day? "Went to work, did some work but not too much work, came home, listened to music, played Magic online, ate some dinner, hung out with Erin when she got home from work/school, went to sleep"? Nah.

Anyway, things are good these days. Spent today's late morning and early afternoon out with Erin having quite a good time. We hit Goodwill for the random goodness that secondhand shops provide, Einstein's for some bagels, and Euclid Records for, well, records. She's off at work now, but when she gets home later we're going across the way for some Mexican, I think. Oh man, I'm gonna eat a huge plate of enchiladas and chile rellenos & a few bottles of Bohemia. Nice.

I've spent this afternoon doing a bunch of stuff. Messed around the apartment for a while, walked on the treadmill, took a shower, and talked on the phone to my mom for a while. Headed out a little while ago to settle a fine at the library, get some books for Erin & myself, and then pick up Erin's comics at Star Clipper. It was nice, I just parked on one of the municipal Loop lots, walked to the library and then down to the comic shop. Couldn't have been more than 1-1.25 miles at the most, but it was a nice afternoon, not too cold and with a bit of sun and high clouds. Lots of people out, the city was really bustling. Wish I'd have taken my camera, actually. The sad thing is that I actually meant to take it, then forgot as I left the apartment. Anyway, I drove around on the way back to the apartment with the window cracked and a mix tape playing, feeling spectacularly glad to be alive.

The cat just jumped up on my stomach and is standing between my face and the computer monitor. She doesn't care, she wants to be petted and to sniff my nose (stop it!). So I'm typing with an obstructed view.

I have three weeks in which to read four library books. Has my reach exceeded my grasp? I hope not. I'd hate for a stupid sounding figure of speech to be right.

then / now