in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

2-23-03 // 12.50 pm

a world away from the coaly tyne

NP: Mark Knopfler - "Sailing to Philadelphia"

I'm typing this as Corona is climbing on my chest and shoulder, nudging my cheek and attempting to gnaw on my ear.

Before noon today I did the following:

-- went to the store and buy a plunger, as well as some hardcore pipe unclogger
-- came home, attempt to plunge the stopped-up toilet, and then poured the unclogger, praying for a miracle
-- did a big pile of dishes
-- wiped down the kitchen
-- vacuumed the apartment
-- showered
-- took out the trash
-- cleaned the fish tank
-- did some laundry, including bedsheets and all of the towels we own, which we had to use in the middle of the night yesterday to soak up the mess from the overflowing toilet

So, yes. Now I'm sitting down, nice and clean from the shower, drinking a cup of coffee, listening to music, and doing some emails.

It's supposed to snow at some point today. Three to five more inches. Wonderful.

I went on a really long walk yesterday afternoon. All the way down to and through Francis Park, which I didn't realize till after I got home is a good sized haul from the apartment.

Went to Erin's five year old cousin's birthday party yesterday. It was in a bowling alley attached to a church. Which I think is a first for me. In any case, it was fun and her cousin looked like she was having a great time.

Hung out with Erin's friends the rest of the day. I was a bit cranky here and there, as for two or three non-consecutive hours, they were outside taking various shots for a video class they're taking. In any case, it was bloody cold. Erin kept saying I should get the car and sit and wait, but I didn't bother. Didn't want to be a jerk and just sit there in the car, you know? But yeah. And for a while, my stomach wasn't feeling so hot, either. Bad combination of eating (over the course of the day) birthday cake & ice cream, pizza, and some leftover Chinese food. Bad news & a gurgly stomach. Plus I was tired, too. Kept feeling like maybe I was getting sick. I feel better today, but I'm still playing it safe. Anyway, I wasn't trying be in a bad mood. I'm just glad Erin got to spend time with her friends for once, considering they hadn't been in touch for ages.

Speaking of friends, it seems Steve is going to be in the city next weekend, so I think we're going to meet up for a bit, maybe see a movie and grab a bite to eat. Just sent him an email about it, actually. Felt good -- I don't like being out of touch with people.

Hrm, the toilet still doesn't seem to be fully operational. I suppose that's why we have the landlord, then.

And with that, I'm off to lounge about and soak in the rest of the weekend while I have the chance.

then / now