in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

2-22-03 // 12.18 pm

current conditions

Cheesy poofs and coffee for breakfast. It's a wonder I'm still alive after all these years, the way I eat sometimes.

I'm the sort of person who will very happily sit there with the Weather Channel on in the background for hours on end. I'm fascinated by weather -- isobars, front lines, pressure centers. I find it all endlessly intriguing. In another life, I may have been a metorologist. Not a TV weatherman, mind you, but a someone working for NOAA or something like that.

It rained all morning, though it appears to have stopped until tomorrow, when it will restart as snow. Oh joy. Though it does at least mean I can get in a walk this afternoon.

Bolton Wanderers and Man Utd. are on now, as well, but it's a boring match. Normally I take great interest in the possibility of Man U losing, but today I'm sort of apathetic about the whole thing. Maybe its' the fact that Newcastle is never on. Sure, they're only third in the table...

Ah, the handy digicable reminder thing has told me Eastenders is now on. Not sure what it is about the show, but it pulls me in. Not in an ironic manner, either. I watch it in earnest. Which is perhaps what scares me the most.

So yesterday late afternoon I was sitting in the cafe in Borders, drinking a cup of coffee. It was actually a bit awkward, as I'd forgotten to bring a pad of paper or a magazine or something, so I was just sitting there on my own, drinking the coffee. Which was pleasant, but I felt like I stuck out amongst the students with their books, and the tables of two/three people chatting. But that's not the point. The point is, I sat there with the coffee, and I random started thinking. Isn't it strange when you remember that we, human beings, are merely fancy animals? We may have civilization, buildings, domestication of animals, space travel, etc. But when you boil it all down, we're super smart monkeys that put one of our own on the moon. I also thought about the social nature of people. I sat there in the cafe, and I felt good just being around other humans. Sometimes I need that social feeling. It's not a knock on anyone I'm close to, it's just that sometimes I like the feeling of being in a crowd, of being a part of bustling, social activity. Even if I'm just sitting there taking it all in.

At Borders I was messing about in the music section, and I ended up listening to a Brazilian folk-jazz sort of album that I really enjoyed. While I can picture the album cover, and remember the sound of the music, I can't remember the artist's name! So while I meant to research it further at home, now I can't, and I'll have to wait till I go back to the store.

Cooked a great curry for dinner last night. Chicken tikka masala, with poppadoms and mint sauce, natch. It's one of those meals that requires lots of attention, as there's the hot oil to watch, the simmering chicken and curry mixture, the rice that always seems to boil over. But when it's done, it rules.

Heh, the cat is sitting on top of a pillow which is in turn on top of one of the speakers. He looks pretty conent, too. The places cats sleep never fail to amuse me.

I should wash dishes and vacuum the carpets today, but you know, I don't feel like it in the least. I'll take care of it tomorrow. Yes, that is what I shall do.

Ah, later I'll have a shower, then a walk. Soon Erin will be awake, and we'll have lunch, we'll hang out -- it'll be great. A great weekend, really. Those are the best.

then / now