in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

2-26-03 // 9.16 am

a new beginning

Monday night was full of tears, anxiety, and hearts tearing apart. No sleep, except for a few hours by me, though that was only because of exhaustion. Talked some more in the morning, and realized our mistake. I realized my mistake, thanks to her. Perhaps somtimes my brain just cooks up a worst-case scenario and runs with it. But the two of us share far too much love to simply give up. We're too And I'll be honest, that's what I'd have been doing. But we're giving it another shot. And this time, we're going to get back to where we should be. We have to improve our communication skills, that's a biggie and rightly so. We need to avoid letting the details and stresses of everday life take their toll on us. I'd like to think that now we know exactly what we have to do for ourselves and for each other. In any case, reports of demise have been greatly exaggerated, and that being with Erin last night, talking and joking, cooking dinner together, being civil and goodnatured, lying in bed holding each other close, telling stories and feeling content -- it was brilliant, and it's the only thing that feels right. In this entire world, she's the only thing that feels truly right. I'm excitedly looking forward to the minutes, hours, days, months, years ahead, because I know they're going to shine.

then / now