in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

2-27-01 // 1.14 am

union made in canada

NP: Shadow Gallery - "Tyranny"

This is %110 cheesy...but once in a while I get in the mood to drag it out and give a listen.

Earlier this evening, I studied for tomorrow's Australian Culture exam. It's gonna be way easy. Tonight I drank Molson Ice lager (love that higher alcohol Canadian beer!) and played Civilization II with Hinge and Jon. I commanded the Zulu nation and didn't do so well with it. My capital city of Funkytown shall never fall, though!

I miss Aline. I haven't heard from her in so long.

Third Eye Blind's song "Semi-Charmed Life" is probably the guiltiest musical pleasure I have. But it reminds me of being 17 years old. I have a flawlessly sharp image in my mind of driving home from Tom's Supermarket, still in my work slacks & summer company polo shirt...it's 8pm on a midweek evening, the sun's getting ready to set on the warm summer night. I'm heading home, tired & ready to eat dinner & watch the night's network sitcom reruns that I've taped. This song's on the radio...my old Malibu's stereo only had a functional tuner, so I listened to the Point, KSHE-95, or maybe 104.1 FM in a pinch. So yeah, tonight I thought of this song and it instantly transported me back to that place & time...that was almost four years ago. Feels more like a lifetime.

I think I may have some news re: the flatmate besides this minimal report...more intersting stuff. But I have to sober up first to write about it. I have lots of coursework to do, too. Man, midterms are a drag.

then / now