in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

3-5-02 // 10.15 am

burn hollywood burn

I had to take my car to get the front end realigned yesterday after work. Luckily, after calling around on my lunch hour, I was able to find a place that stayed open into the evening. So I dropped the thing off at the front counter and walked over to the mall across the parking lot. Got some decidedly middling Chinese food from the food court (though the spicy peanut chicken was quite passable), and then just wandered around for a while waiting for the hour to be up. At one point, as I came down an escalator, I was once again stopped by people holding clipboards. This time I was informed that I could make $35 by taking another survey. Nothing else to do, so I went ahead with it. So I sat there answering what felt like endless questions about checking accounts and would I like whoever sells me my checks to also offer catalogs, and if they did what types of catalogs would I be interested in. The kid asking the questions (who somewhat resembled the fat, blond friend kid on "The Wonder Years") looked extremely bored...can't say I blame him.

So after collecting my check, I headed back to the auto repair place. They informed me there was some more work to be done yet, so I had to go sit down in the horrible "waiting room" they provide. Places like that always have the most soul crushing waiting areas. Uncomfortable metal chairs, straight out of some low-rent Italian restaurant. Magazines only a sociopath would want to read, a blowout of a women's basketball game playing loudly on the small TV, and a middle aged husband and wife sitting next to me arguing.

So as you could imagine, I was overjoyed when I got a call on my mobile from Erin. I went on the front sidewalk outside the garage to get away from the noise inside. It was utterly freezing out there, but I didn't care. The garage workers who were waiting for me to pay for the repairs kept glaring at me through the front window as if to say "quit yer yappin' and take care of this"...but I didn't care. They'd have to wait 'til I was off the phone. So we talked, she told me about her first day of work adventure...I think we also swapped drinking horror stories. See, this is one of the things I like so much about her...the conversation always feels effortless. I don't feel like I have to hold anything back with her, which I think is wonderful. She's wonderful.

Ben Folds show tonight in Carbondale. Just him and a piano, at this little bar just off the university campus. Meeting up with Steve at Jared's apartment pre-show. Jared has to work on his PhD so he won't be joining us at the gig, but afterwards I think we're all going to get a bite to eat. It'll probably be a late night tonight...but hey, it's all good.

I need to get a haircut here soon. Though I don't know when I'd have the time to do it. I guess I'll either have to get up even earlier one morning and do it then, or wait 'til like Thursday or Friday evening after work. It's those sorts of things that I think are the greatest inconveniences of having a 9-5 job...sometimes it seems nearly impossible to do little tasks like going to the post office, going to the bank, getting a haircut. Oh well, c'est la vie.

Alright, I'd better keep moving. Later.

then / now