in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

3-5-04 // 7.48 pm

do you brake for distilled spirits

NP: Green Day - "Nimrod"

So tired.

I couldn't be happier that it's Friday. Work today was the capper on an absolutely apeshit crazy week. Got in this morning to find out that the customer wanted to find out how our system runs on Mozilla & that they wanted an answer by the afternoon. Yes! So I had like four or five hours to scramble around and do as much accurate analysis as possible. Madness. The afternoon was filled with meetings, first an hour and a half long session with our head data quality guy arguing with the major who's basically our head contact with the customer. The worst part is I didn't even need to be there. We were supposed to discuss the new project I've been assigned to, but they pushed that off to Tuesday after the whole meeting went by. Ugh. After that was my performance review. No problems, all is well, but those things always make me anxious for some reason.

But now it's the weekend and I'm hoping to revert to something more human here soon. I went on the way home from work and took a long walk around Bellvue Park in Belleville. It was nice, filled with parents and children playing, some fishing and chasing geese around the little lake. Very relaxing, and I could feel some of the stress leaking out the bottom of my feet as I tread the serpentine path throughout the park.

Came home and tidied up the apartment some, took out the trash, that sort of thing. I then ran up to Immaculate Conception in Maplewood to grab a couple of fish fry suppers for when Erin gets home. They're in the oven now, staying warm under a tinfoil blanket until Erin gets home in about 45 minutes. It's great fish, though I will still need to make the pilgrimage to my parents' village this summer in order to eat at the Legion's fish stand & to drink a few beers in the back garden.

I have the windows open and the fans going to try to air out this stuffy apartment. It's nice, really, feels very springlike. I'm sure we'll still get hit with one more big winter blast at some point, but it's still so nice.

I'm outta here. Later, gators.

then / now