in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

3-9-02 // 11.59 am

after everything, now this happens

NP: The Church - "After Everything Now This"

I just looked out the back window -- last night's storms and strong winds have the big tree in the neighbor's yard leaning at like a 45 degree angle. Looks like it's going to fall over into our yard. Hope it doesn't.

Work was horrible yesterday. The morning was OK enough, I suppose, but the afternoon was just killer. Mostly meetings, which kept me from doing the actual work I have to take care of. Making matters worse, one meeting was to discuss the details of the company laying off about 20 people. I'm safe, apparently, but still. This is making people around the office very surly. The other meeting started at 3pm (on a Friday afternoon!) and lasted two and a half agonizing hours.

So yeah, all that nonsense finally ended, and I was able to hop in the car and drive to home to get ready to see Erin. She drove out to my village -- I'd promised a night of exploring the "wonders" of southwestern Illinois. I hope I was able to deliver. She took a ton of great pictures with my digicam. Longacre Park was open rather late for a park, so we hung out there for quite some time, talking, smiling, watching the advancing storm clouds. Oh, and I promised to protect her from the flock of ducks waddling ominously on the banks of the pond nearby. I could've stayed there with my arm around her 'til the sun came up.

So yeah...things are continuing to go well. I want this to work out, because frankly, Erin is completely amazing. I feel so at ease when I'm with her... She melts my insides with her smile. I could talk to her for hours, listening to all the great things she has to say, and to the absolutely sexy voice in which she says them. And we always have something to talk about...I think I've mentioned it before, but conversation with her is as natural as breathing. And she's direct, she doesn't mince words. Which I totally appreciate. Mentally and physically, she's amazingly attractive. Like I said, she's a keeper.

Lazy day today, I think. Well, I've got laundry going at the moment, and I'll probably catch up on some TV and reading this afternoon. I want to take a walk, too, assuming the weather cooperates.

OK, time to end this. Later, all.

then / now