in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

3-11-03 // 11.27 am

reading the graffiti about slashed seat affairs

NP: The Jam - "Sound Affects"

I wish I'd written That's Entertainment or Down In The Tube Station At Midnight. Not to mention Going Underground or Saturday's Kids. And Eton Rifles, In The City... Hell, I'd even settle for singing and playing one of the aforementioned on an acoustic guitar in a pub in front of a half dozen people. But I suppose I'll have to settle with having a cool mod-style RAF target keychain fob.

Earlier I was feeling slightly nauseous, but it passed, thankfully. Now I'm simply ravenously hungry.

I was going to make fun of renaissance fairs, as well as the terms "renfest" and "rennies", but then I decided against it. Why? Because even though I find the whole concept hilarious, it and its own little world is still equally valid as my stupid little subcultures are. In high school I had quiz bowl, not to mention the whole gaming thing (well, really just Magic and a few assorted other card games, but still), and of course now there's Diaryland, not to mention the music geekery. I suppose my general music geekery has been quantified and upgraded to inclusion in subculture by my active participation in discussion lists, not to mention my reviews site.

I had a meeting at 8 o'clock this morning, a review board of some variety or another. In any case, we waiting twenty minutes for the people on the other line to show up at their designated meeting room. The meeting itself took five minutes. What stellar use of a morning.

Houseguest from hell update: since he got here on Thursday, he only applied to two apartment complexes, mostly due to the fact that his shrewish wife apparently demands some sort of cheap yet amazingly fancy place. Anyway, of the two apartments, one said they'd need a $2000 deposit right off the bat (he has terrible credit), basically rendering it out of the question, and the other (my complex, actually) said not to even bother sending in his papers, as it turns out there are already pending applications on the two units left available there. So since it's first come, first served, he'd basically need one of those people to get denied, which is not very likely. In any case, this has left Erin and I to pick up the slack. Since he's already started at his new job, he can't go back to Ohio in the interim. He's stuck here. And due to a combination of him having to work and him being totally clueless, we're having to do most of the dirty work in finding him a place to live. So we split the duties -- Erin's tackling the Missouri side, and I'm taking care of the Illinois side. Ugh. Apartment hunting is bad enough when it's hunting for a place for you to live, not to mention when you're doing it for someone else. But we're working on the whole mess, and hopefully it'll be resolved sooner rather than later. I'd rant some here, but I think I've ranted myself out on this subject. At least for the time being. not to mention that I'm making a conscious effort to not be mean-spirited about the whole thing. Oh, and it must be said -- a billion and one thanks to Erin for having the patience of a saint, absorbing my heated thoughts on the subject whilst driving to dinner last night.

Going to hang out with Ryan S (and likely also Schlitt) this evening after work. I'll probably stop by my parents' house for a bit at some point, too, considering I haven't seen them for a while.

My goal this week (and in the coming weeks) is to work off the damage done of a week's worth of bottles of beer both at home and in the bowling alley bar. I'm feeling squishy and not entirely unsluglike. Not that eating at Denny's is going help accomplish said goal, but it is Denny's after all. I am but one man, powerless to resist the siren call of glowing, radioactive buffalo sauce, partially cooked fries, and poor service.

I suppose I should get my amorphous ass in gear for now, seeing as how it's nearly lunchtime already and I've done little of value since I arrived at work this morning.

then / now