in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

4-11-03 // 1.48 pm

in spite of what you've been told about elvis

NP: Carter USM - "1992: The Love Album"

Any record with an EU flag on the front (with the band's name in tiny font inside each star), a Brussels sprout on the label of the CD itself, and a note in the album credits saying "dedicated to our friends in 'Yugoslavia'" has to deserve some attention. I mean, just the entire concept of this band, coupled with the fact that they exist is enough for me. I mean, did the world have an outstanding need for crusty, ratty Londoners making lewd, sarcastic synth pop meets music hall and showtunes type pop music? I'm not sure, but either way, I like it.

See, monkey see, monkey do. The USA is like some hip, goofball uncle that lets his nieces/nephews get away with murder and makes them think it's OK to act irresponsibly. Oh, and there's also this. I'm shocked. Can we just give Dick Cheney a crown and a big sash that says "All Your Fossil Fuel Source Are Belong To Us" already? Hrm. Like I said, Iraqi citizens who no longer have to worry about being shot by Republican Guardsmen is a good thing. Though now they have to worry about being shot down by roving gangs and tribal warmongers. Oh, and by errant US/British bombs and rifles. And the whole US patting itself on the back thing is getting old fast. The fight's not over yet, boyos, and you'd better start thinking about how to get the country back to some semblance of order. Just don't pull another Afghanistan, OK?

It's Friday and not a damn thing is going on. I think I'm one of only three or so people in this entire lab. It's a perfect spring day outside, and I assume everyone else had to the good sense to be out enjoying it. Which is why in a few minutes I'll make my escape to join them.

then / now