in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

4-12-04 // 3.07 pm

don't want to be your monkey wrench

NP: iPod on random

iPod's randomization is shit. I could write a better routine, I'm sure of it. Basically, the iPod OS Apple wrote seems to latch on to and group together certain artists and albums within artists. For example, my 10GB 2nd gen. iPod currently has 2298 songs on it, with room for probably another couple hundred. So far today I have listened to 58 of those songs, the entire contents of the iPod being set to play "randomly". There has been an overabundance of songs in these 58 from Bruce Hornsby's "Hot House Ball", Green Day's "Insomniac", the Manics' "The Holy Bible", and Prefab Sprout's "Two Wheels Good". Other days it's other artists & albums, but the overall schema seems to be the same. Granted, most common randomization routines are really just pseudo-reandom, but still. Whatever randomization algorithm is in the iPod isn't as good as it could/should be. Makes me wish I could write my own. I probably could, using an AppleScript, but I don't think those can be ported to the Pod itself, just used in iTunes.

I feel like I should apologize for writing something as boring as that. But I won't.

Rest of the weekend wasn't bad. Saturday I just did not feel like doing much of anything. Erin left for work and I finally shook the headache that had been plaguing me all day. Took a walk on the treadmill, showered, ate lunch & watched the Blues self-destruct. Drove out and brought Erin an early dinner, came home and just sort of messed about on the computer for a while, folded some laundry and didn't do much of anything. Ugh, it was just such a gray, cold, rain-filled day. Erin wanted me to come over to her grandparents' house to dye Easter eggs but I just didn't feel like going out. Ryan and J.R. were having a barbecue but I passed on that, too. What a jerk I must've been to have to deal with that day. Anyway, Easter sunday was nice, even though the day doesn't really hold any significance to me. I'm not religious, and any way you slice it (original pagan meaning or Christianized meaning) it doesn't apply to me. I'm not celebrating anything, really, but I enjoy it because family does, and family togetherness is a good thing. Had lunch at my grandparents' house and then went for dinner to Erin's grandparents' place. Long day but again, good to see everyone and get out. Spent the rest of the night digesting and watching TV once Andy & Liz came over.

Typical Monday at work, just trying to get back into the swing of things. I should be more productive than I've been, but oh well. Only a few more hours left today, for which I am grateful. Cooking curry tonight, I think, and then just sitting around. Monday nights were made for just sitting around, I think. I may also continue my season on FIFA '04. Sadly, if you want to play a league season, you have to do so in "career mode", which entails all of the transfers/managing/training stuff. It's actually sort of interesting, but I'm mostly interested in just playing the matches. But c'est la vie. At least I opened the fake season with a 2-2 home draw against Chelsea, that was nice.

There's geek strike #2 against this entry. Talking about my Gamecube footsoccer Newcastle United season.

Last but not least, I present: Doughnut Shops of St. Louis.

Geek strike #3?

then / now