in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

4-18-03 // 3.33 pm

diet dr. pepper

Spent an hour lunch break standing in lines at Target and the post office. In front of me at Target was a woman writing a check who had apparently never written a check before, as she seemed very bad and slow at it. I just wanted to pay for my Easter stuff and get out, but no. Though I did score The Coral's self-titled album and the new DVD reissue of "UHF" for a total of like 15 bucks, so it wasn't all bad. In front of me at the post office were many people, one of which had five packages and wrote a check to pay, and the other was this guy with a buzz cut and his kid with a bad teenage mustache sending off approximately three big plastic tubs' worth of packages. Half of them required customs forms, so it was taking even longer than the already long time it should have. Ugh.

Right now I'm trying to call Steve back, but every time I dial, I just get his cell phone's voice mail. Which is odd since he only called me like 15 minutes ago, and since he told me to call his phone right back. I guess it's some sort of connectivity problem. In any case, we're trying to figure out what to do tonight, since he's in town and all. He suggested Dave & Busters, which is OK I guess, but it's not my first choice. Erin doesn't like it at all. So once my call finally goes through, we need to sort out what's going on. He and his wife are already eating dinner with her parents, so my plan of dinner then back to our apartment for video games is sort of shot. Though I may see if they want to go bowling and/or play video games.

This day has absolutely flown by. It's been a good day, really, as I've been pretty productive. Even engaged in an excellent sort of "shoot the shit" type discussion on such topics as moral relativism, the United States' responsibility (or lack thereof) to protecting cultural heritage in Iraq (e.g. the looting of the Iraqi national museum, containing ultra-ancient relics), fundamentalism vs. extremism, and various other things. It was like a cross between hallway discussions at college and a philosophy/ethics class that didn't actually suck. Either way, it's way cool having coworkers who can (a) have discussions like these civilly, and (b) have opinions and leanings that run a fairly wide gamut.

I'm out of here in about half an hour, maybe sooner. Fridays rule.

then / now