in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

4-21-03 // 10.36 am

opens the most intricate lock

NP: The Coral - s/t

In a typically Scouse fashion, this record is totally bonkers. It's like some sort of demented hybrid of '60s psychedelic pop, Nuggets-style garage rock (the good kind that's tempered with weirdness, not the Strokes-esque revival type), and sea shanties. Also, imagine a singer that could be a shouter from a classic British Invasion band singing lyrics about skeleton keys and a man named Simon who changed his last name from Russell to Diamond, and lived inside a nutshell.

I'm attempting to fight off Monday morning transition and apathy by diving head on into writing unit tests for all of the procedures I've been working on for my project. So far, the plan seems to be working, as I'm getting things done. And that's despite the fact that the database that I'm installing and testing on has been wigging out all morning so far.

The weekend was packed but loads of fun. Met up with Steve on Friday night, Erin stayed home and we ended up getting a drink and then seeing "Phone Booth". Not a bad flick -- not genius, mind you, but much better than the poor-to-average I thought it'd be. Came home and hung out with Erin, who was killing time watching TV with John. Saturday we went to the Cardinals game. My uncle got tickets through his work, and passed them on to my dad, from where they made their way to my sister. So Erin and I met her and her boyfriend at Busch, and it was a great time. Close game that the Cards ended up losing in a maddening fashion, and it drizzled throughout most of the game, and rained steadily from the 6th through the 8th, but it didn't matter. Went to Erin's grandparents' and dyed eggs, and chilled out at home the rest of the night. We were supposed to meet up with Ryan S, but that didn't really work out for either of us, so we postponed until later this week. Easter Sunday had lunch at my grandparents' house in Fairview, and then went for an early dinner with Erin's family. Watched the Blues on TV and hung out at home the rest of the night.

Favorite clothes. I've never been particularly bothered about what I wear. I've never been accused of being in touch with high fashion. But in any case, I started thinking about my top five all-time favorite items of clothing. I'm pretty sure my #1 choice would be my black Newcastle Utd. practice shirt. It has the Newcastle Brown sponsor logo on the front, with the Addidas logo and the club crest above and to either side of that. There's also thin turquoise striping down the sides, and white stripes on the top of the shoulders. It's comfortable and I've always liked the way it feels and looks on me. #2 on the "top clothes of all time" list would be a pair of faded dark olive colored slacks, acquired from a thrift shop sophomore or junior year of college. They were a bit small on me then (back in the dorm cafeteria Malnourishment Years), and they don't really fit me now, being a size or so smaller than what I normally wear. But in any case, I loved the feel of the fabric on my legs, I loved the creases, and I loved the deep pockets, perfect for holding a minidisc player or for stuffing your hands into. #3 would have to be my old dark green trench coat. Got the thing between my freshman and sophomore years of college at an outlet mall. It served me well for almost five years, before becoming almost too ratty at the end of this winter. In any case, it became worn and weathered, but it hung on my body perfectly. It kept out the rain on long walks to campus, blocked the wind at the riverfront in Cape, and protected me from a schizophrenic English winter. I love that coat, though I'm afraid its time has passed. My parents got me a new coat this past Christmas, it's tan and quite nice. And I'm sure it'll feel right eventually. But for now, it's no old green coat. #4 is a more recent acquisition. It's a sort of light blue button-up collared shirt. Not sure what material it's made out of, but it has a strange texture and it's very light to wear. Found it at a resale shop down the road from my apartment right before New Years last year. Wasn't ultra cheap ($6 or something), but it's been very worth it. #5 might be a tie between my current pair of New Balance trainers (a year and a half old, maybe even longer, and still going strong, which is crazy considering the rate at which I normally go through tennis shoes), which are unbelievably comfortable, and a pair of finally-broken-in pair of Levi's which may be the first pair of jeans I've ever owned that I've truly been happy with.

Haute couture now aside, I should get back to work. Well, I've been half-working and half-writing, but now I should get back to all work. Whee!

then / now