in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

4-20-02 // 12.11 pm

down a hill of pine tree quills we made our way

NP: The Shins - "Oh, Inverted World"

Erin's 11 year old cousin bailed on us last night. That's right, we were stood up by a kid. How embarassing.

So instead we went to see Erin's friend Andrew's band's show/CD release party at Vintage Vinyl. The band was rather good, actually. The songwriting was pretty good (though I thought one song was Weezer's "Suzanne" until the lyics turned out to be different), and playing was very tight. Impressive considering most bands of that type just kind of flail around. I'd go see 'em again at a proper gig. I was also entertained by the creepy emo crowd. I kept my eye on this one kid...he was wearing what appeared to be a big-collared dress shirt with a black t-shirt over it that read "CHICAGO" in huge rainbow letters. He also videotaped the entire show, moving around to various vantage points throughout the shop.

Coming out of the record shop, we walked down Delmar looking for someplace to eat. After a while, we noticed the sky getting extremely dark, and we started to hear what sounded like warning sirens. Tornado, perhaps...at least that's what we thought. So we headed back up the street just as the skies opened up and it started to piss down. Huge, sheet-like, squally rains. By the time we got back to my car (had to have been a 3/4 of a mile away) we were soaked through. Went back to John's place and dried off...that was nice. I'd probably not have been terribly happy sitting around in wet jeans the rest of the night.

Went to Denny's instead later, that was really nice. Good to be inside and warm on a stormy night. Good to be there with Erin.

Erin was so amazingly tired when I dropped her off. I thought she was going to collapse right there in my front seat. She had that glazed look on her eyes...she looked more weary than someone who'd just walked cross-continent. I selfishly didn't want her to go, I wanted to sit there with my arms around her, talking, all night. But she had to go in...she needed rest.

I'm pretty sure I hit a dog on the way home, only a few miles from my village...it was black and blended in with the night. It didn't emerge from the darkness 'til it was too late for me to swerve out of the way. Aside from the fact that I felt relieved to have not crashed my car and to not have been killed, I felt terrible for the dog. I'm the type of person who doesn't squash spiders...I pick them up on a tissue and set them outside on the deck. I don't like things to die.

I got a hundred yards or so from the turnoff to my street and a rabbit ran out in front of the car. No time to do anything about that one, either. It was really depressing at 3 o'clock in the morning.

Erin's supposed to come over this afternoon, then it's the Kids in the Hall show this afternoon. This is going to be a kick-ass day, I can feel it. If I use the term "kick-ass", you know I feel pretty strongly about it. P.S. I love Erin.

then / now