in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

4-21-01 // 2.53 am

for my weezer

I got a message from my mom this evening...they had to put my gray cat to sleep. She was old, nearly 14 years. About a month ago she took ill...the vet said it was the beginning stages of renal failure. They put her on a regimen of saline IVs several times a week -- and for a while that worked like a charm. But this week, my mom said she was just doing terribly. She wouldn't eat, she just cowered in the corner all day, she wouldn't come upstairs at night like usual. They upped the IV dosage but it didn't do anything...she was wasting away. So my parents did the humane thing, they had the vet put her under Friday night. They buried her in the backyard, in the corner near the fence, underneath a tree that was just a sapling when she moved with us to the new house a decade ago. It'll be shady there...peaceful.

I'll always have the image in my mind of her in the backyard grass, slinking along like a tiny gray tiger in the summer sun. I'll always remember how moody she was...how she'd nip at you even though she was begging you to feed her. How she'd paw at my door every night when everyone else had gone to sleep, and then jump back over herself and run to the kitchen when I opened the door. I'll remember how I could pick her up and she weighed next to nothing, like a furry feather. I'll remember that funny chirping noise she made & how she loved to sleep curled up on the chair or couch in the basement. I'll remember the day we brought her home from the farm she was born at, and how small she was, how big her head was in proportion to the rest of her body & how fragile she looked sleeping in her little box in the laudry room. I'll remember the cute little white hair that came out of her ears. I'll remember all of that stuff for the rest of my life.

Now tears are rolling down my face.
It's all really sinking in now.

I miss you Willow.

then / now