in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

4-24-02 // 9.10 am

between the night and day, lost in the law of averages

No music since I'm at the office, though I was listening to Matt Good Band "The Audio of Being" before I left the house this morning.

I was in the break room a little while ago getting a cup of coffee, and one of my coworkers started to talk about how he watched Jerry Springer last night and how trashy the show is. It just struck me as a really odd thing to say...I mean, when was the last time anyone was fazed by Springer? Maybe like five years ago? It was just curious, it was like my coworker had just woken up out of a coma and wasjust now catching up on popular trends in shit TV.

The worst of my sinus thing seems to have passed. I woke up this morning feeling pretty alright. The pressure is basically gone (hooray, that's always the worst part) and all that remains is a bit of sniffling and such. At the moment, I'd best describe my physical state as cautiously optimistic. I'm at that point where you're on the mend, you can tell you're almost better, but you're a bit wary of somehow reversing the trend and starting to feel like crap again.

Erin and I caught up with Ryan last night...ended up going to Steak n Shake. Service was miserable, but it wasn't their fault, the restaurant was pretty crowded and I think there was a total of two people working in the entire place. Anyway, it was great to sit down with Ryan, hadn't really done so for about two weeks. Sounds like things are getting back on track with him, I know the past two or three weeks had been kind of rough on him.

Erin's taking the morning off work, maybe the whole day she said. In any case, she usually gets in to work before me, there's usually an email from her in my inbox when I arrive. Anyway, today there isn't, and it's a strange feeling. I miss her. Though I hope she's having a relaxing, sleep-filled morning. I know she's been really tired lately. I love her. So much.

Staying in and resting tonight, I think. A proper night's sleep will do me good, plus I really need to catch up on laundry, reading (three issues of Time have piled up next to my bed!), and various bits of paperwork.

Erin is teaching me guitar. I've had this acoustic for years now, but at college I never really seemed to have the time to devote to it. As a result, the few chords and such that I learned back then have long since been forgotten. So armed only with the knowledge of how to read tablature, Erin's teaching me chords and showing me finger exercises I can do to improve my fretwork. So yeah...she's a fantastic teacher. Very patient, considering I'm starting out knowing next to nothing and I don't really have a musical bone in my body. She even brought me new strings and picks....she's so sweet. So I'm going to work on chords tonight, too.

We're at that bit of the spring season where the evenings are long but not too long. Cloudless afternoons give way to half black, half dark blue dusky skies, and stars that just barely poke through the fabric. It's at that time of the evening, on nights like that, where I love to take a walk through my village. Everything just seems so peaceful, even though there's usually people out and about walking pets, hanging out at the ice cream stand, playing in yards, mowing lawns.

Evenings like that also remind me of being like 8 years old and living in our old house in Fairview Heights. My parents usually sent me to bed halfway early, though I was allowed to lay in bed and listen to the radio for a while before going to sleep. On nights when they weren't off, I'd always tune in to KMOX and listen to Cardinals games. I remember the interplay of the voices of Jack Buck and Mike Shannon, I remember the ad jingles for Frederick Roofing and Busch beer. I remember "pauses for station identification" and the short space of dead air, then the "KMOX 1120, St. Louis" that followed. I remember that faint, hissy buzz that AM radio always exudes. I remember not so great teams and I remember being able to picture the scene at the ballpark just from the words I was hearing. Nights like those make this one of my most vivid, enduring memories.

Work is just blah at the moment. There's a few things going on, but for the most part, I feel like I'm wasting time. I'm sure things will pick up eventually, but yeah... I hate being here when there's nothing to take care of. Makes me feel useless.

I'm a bit tired this morning, but also feeling extraordinarly focused mentally. It's one of those days where words are just flowing effortlessly. Maybe I'll write a bit tonight. Who knows.

Another cup of coffee sounds wonderful right now. So I'm outta here. I hope everyone out there is as happy inside as I am right at this very moment.

then / now