in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

4-23-02 // 9.11 am

under pressure

It feels like someone's took one of those pneumatic air hose things they have at gas stations, attatched it to my head, and inflated. The pressure in here is terrible. This is my number one most despised thing about spring, a season I otherwise enjoy. Every once in a while, I just get these major sinus things. Day one is a sore throat, day two is pressure behind the ears, day three is a combination of day two plus sinus congestion and pain. I should be mostly alright by tomorrow, but for now it's not fun.

So I'm here at work, even though I didn't want to get out of bed this morning. This is one of those mornings (sinus thing, lots of thick, gray clouds) where at school I'd have just turned off my alarm, skipped class, curled up in a fetal ball, and woken up around noon. But I'm hesitant to do that here at work. Yeah, I have access to unlimited sick days, but I'd prefer not to use them unless absolutely necessary.

Not much going on at work at the moment. Yesterday was packed with meetings and writing documentation. Today is slow, though. Which is OK, I think, so yeah...

Went to see Erin last night. She was pretty down, just in general. I hope I was able to do my part to cheer her up, even a little bit. I just wanted her to be happy...I wanted to see that incredibly beautiful smile of hers.

She got me new strings for my guitar, as well as a whole bunch of picks and a neat little case to hold them in. 'Cause I'm really bad at keeping track of picks otherwise. She did acupressure on my sinuses last night...worked better than any chemical remedy could've. She's just so kind and thoughtful. I love her so much.

I have to mow the lawn when I get home this afternoon. Ugh. Though Erin is coming to see me in the evening, which is wonderful. We're supposed to meet up with Ryan at some point, too, which is good considering we really haven't seen him for the past couple of weeks. So yeah, it's all good.

Now it's time for more coffee. If there's one thing I'm going to need today, it's a constantly filled coffee cup.

then / now