in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

4-25-03 // 11.40 am

gettin' close to an overload

NP: random iPod goodness.

I'm not sure if I've ever admitted in this diary before or not, but my #1, all-time most embarassing album is Journey's "Greatest Hits". The sad thing is, I enjoy this disc in a manner that is wholly devoid of irony. I mean, Neal Schon was a pretty good guitarist in his day, and Jonathan Cain wrote some decent ballads, and Steve Perry had an alright set of pipes for a total cheeseball. I mean, the entire Journey ouvre is pure AOR madness. And basically anything the band did after about 1986 wasn't worth anything. And don't even get me started on Pery leaving and the one remaining original member hiring some sound-alike guy to replace him. But anyway, for some reason, that album has stuck with me over the years, and I like it. Plus it has the distinction of being one of, if not the best in-car musical selections ever.

So today I'm 23 years old. It's a pretty unremarkable age, really. I thought I'd have more to say on the subject, but I actually think I don't. Oh well. Not sure what's going on tonight as far as a celebration goes, but Erin and I might go out and get a bite to eat, maybe a drink or two, something like that.

The wacked-out server from yesterday evening's entry was still down when I came in this morning. So I rang up the server guy in Virginia and asked him what was going on. Apparently there's some controller and/or a backup battery that keeps going out, and someone was supposed to fix it earlier this week but they didn't. So he bounced the server, and presto -- I can now do my work again. Which is appreciated, because it's my self-imposed goal to completely finish this test plan today. So far, I'm doing quite well if I do say so myself. And I do.

Alright, time to refocus on the task at hand. Later gators.

then / now