in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

4-24-03 // 5.32 pm

these are the days when our work has come asunder

NP: nowt. Though my coworker is playing U2 "Zooropa" (a fine choice), which I can sort of hear.

It's Thursday evening and I'm still at work. I've been putting in the overtime this week, trying to finish up this huge ass test plan for the 100 odd procedures I wrote/modified for my current project. But yeah, I'm more or less already up to 40 hours for the week. I originally wanted to take tomorrow off (what with it being my birthday), but those hopes were dashed. Though I'm still holding out for being able to leave significantly early. In any case, the only reason I'm even writing this is that the development server I'm using has mysteriously decided to stop working, therefore stopping in its tracks the last bit of work I was going to do tonight. Hrm.

I feel bad about the fact that due to this workload, I've been tired and preoccupied for most of the week. I dislike being mentally and physically exhausted when I come home. It's funny, I just sit in a cube all day, but somehow that wears my body out. But yeah, I don't feel like I've been paying enough attention to Erin, and I haven't had time to call or email back my mom, who has sent me several messages, and whom I know is alone for the week as my dad is down at the farm. Bleargh. Weeks like this totally suck. There's nothing to do about it, it's just how things go sometimes.

Just checked and the server is still down.

R.E.M. are doing a big world tour this year, with numerous North American dates. And although they're stopping in both Kansas City and Chicago, there is no St. Louis date on the itinerary. At least not yet. Which is strage considering they were here for the "Monster" and "Up" tours in 1994 and 1998, respectively, and since Michael Stipe lived in Collinsville, Illinois (right here in the metro area) for a while as a teenager. So yeah, I'm holding out for a later addition to that tour, as well as another Wilco show in town at some point. I know it's my own fault for missing the last couple at the Pageant, but still.

Alright, unless the server makes a miraculous recovery, about another half hour and I'm out of here.

then / now