in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

4-29-01 // 10.21 pm

grind the stone, spin the wheel

NP: David Gray - "Lost Songs"

I feel strange this evening for no apparent reason. Weird & out of sorts. I don't like it very much. I guess I need a good night's sleep in my own bed after being out of town all weekend.

Saturday evening we were at the Fitz's brewery (root beer) in U City eating dinner. When you're downstairs in the main eating area, you can see through a huge window into the bottling/packaging area. There's a big conveyor belt that goes by, it looks just like the intro to "Laverne & Shirley". I kept wanting to go back there and put a glove on one of the bottle tops.

We went across the street to Vintage Vinyl afterwards & browsed the racks. What did I find peeking out at me from the "M" section? Why nothing but a promo copy of the new Marillion album! I know I have a copy coming in like two weeks, but I'm a junkie. So I bought it. I tell you what, it's totally excellent. Funk + electronic + pop + country + magical Marillion-y element = happiness.

One of my best friends is annoying me by continuously retelling the story where he made out with and got semi-naked with the girl I've wanted for like that last year and a half. The part that drives me the craziest is that she wanted to get it on, but he refused. All that & ultimately he turned her down. Put him & me in a room with a girl we both like and she'll choose him every time. But when it comes down to it, he won't do anything with her. What's wrong with this setup?

I think I need someone tonight.

then / now