in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

4.29.02 // 9.32 pm

all those dark and frantic transatlantic miles

NP: Pet Shop Boys - "Release"

Found out at work today that there's going to be yet another round of layoffs ("restructuring" they say) in a couple of months. Then maybe even another one after that. Apparently my job is safe through both of those, but yeah... I'm not sure how much longer I want to bother with a job where I live in constant fear of being gotten rid of.

On the plus side, I procured the single cube of the guy who recently left to go work in Texas. Rock. Now I can bring in photos and trinkets and other assorted things to decorate. I was getting tired of my drab double cube. I mean, I could've brought stuff in but I didn't want to get things just right knowing that I'd eventually be moving elsewhere.

Went out for a walk about half an hour before dusk. It was just one of those evenings where I think everyone has the exact same idea...the whole village seemed to be out on a walk our out mowing lawns. Everywhere I looked there were kids riding bikes or middle schoolers roaming around in gangs and loitering in the Drew's parking lot.

While I was out, I saw a car that looked like it came from the future. I don't know what it actually was, but it had these half covers over the wheel wells. I think it's cool that at least once in a while, technology actually looks like it was depicted in cheesy 1950s sci-fi.

So yeah, I'm home tonight. Taking a night to rest...more out of need and exhaustion than want. I think if it was up to both of us, we'd be out and together at the moment.

I'm missing her like crazy right now. We were on the phone earlier, but yeah... *sigh* I want to hold her in my arms right now.

Early to bed tonight, I think. Well relatively early. Tomorrow's going to be a great day.

then / now