in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-1-02 // 11.26 am

meanie jerky chicken

I'm tired this morning. Was up really late with Erin last night...it was so worth it, but yeah. I'm drinking a lot of coffee this morning. I could also use a nap. It's OK, though, I'll reenergize by afternoon and evening, I always do.

Wonderful mini-break coming up this weekend. I'm so looking forward to it...no getting up early in the morning to worry about, no nothing. Just us.

Work is work, it's moving along and it's not too stressful, but it's just blah. Sat through an excruciatingly long all hands meeting this morning. At least there were doughnuts, that was a plus. We were on a conference call with the Virginia office, and when it came to the question and answer portion of the meeting, there was this one guy who just started yelling, ranting and raving, almost at random. It was weird and also kind of funny.

Standing around before the meeting, one of my coworkers just came up to me and asked, out of the blue, "have you ever been in a fistfight?" Also, the site manager shook my hand at one point...she said that I won her five dollars. Somehow...she didn't explain herself. What the hell? It's been kind of a strange morning around here.

Finally got a hold of Ryan last night, after like three days of trying. When he picked up the phone, he sounded sick or dying or something. It turns out that he fought with his girlfriend again, and now they're on a break. Oh god. Tried to get him to come out, get a bite to eat, but he wouldn't. I think he just wants to stew for a while...he said maybe we'd do something next week. I just want to do something to make him feel better, you know?

Going to see Erin tonight...mini-golf is the plan, hopefully the weather cooperates. We've been seeing each other for two months now. We were talking last night about how it simultaneously feels like we've been dating two weeks and two years. I dunno, it's tough to articulate exactly what I want to express (it all makes perfect sense up in my brain, but sometimes there aren't words up there to describe what I'm feeling), but being with her is just an amazing combination of excitement, discovery, security, and intimacy, both physical and mental. It's perfect. She's perfect...god, I love her.

Now I should probably do some work. I don't want to, though. At least it's almost lunchtime.

then / now